Former Late Model Champion, Richard Jarvis, Jr. sat out the 2010 season. On Saturday night he returned piloting his own car and sport his father’s former number, No. 680. The combination worked perfectly as Jarvis held off the final lap bid by World of Outlaw standout, Austin Hubbard to win the 20 lap main

Hal Browning led lap one before Jarvis shot by for the lead. The caution was quickly out as Andrew Mullins came to a stop. On the restart, Austin Hubbard got by Derrike Hill for third. Hubbard and Browning put on a great side by side race until Hubbard took second on lap six. Derrike Hill followed into second. David Hill got by Staci Warrington on lap seven to move into the top five.

David Hill got by Browning for fourth as late arrival, David Pettyjohn was working his way from the rear of the field up to sixth. Hubbard mirrowed Jarvis in every turn but Jarvis made no mistakes. On the final turn, Hubbard shot to the bottom or the track and pulled inside of Jarvis. Jarvis out raced him to the finish to take the win by .288 seconds in his Chris Gray/J.D. Quillen/Mid-Coastal Siding/Fleet Maintenance/Pro Power/Lazer.

Derrike Hill held off his father David to finish in third and fourth with Browning turning in a solid drive to hold off Pettyjohn for fifth. Heats were won by David Hill and Ricky Elliott.

“I’m just so tickled,” said Jarvis. “I had a little luck with the draw and got a good starting spot there. When I first got here I drew dead last and started last in the heat race and though it was going to be a bad night.”

A great opening night field of 29 Crate Models was on hand for opening night. Tyler Reed set fast time but the fan selected inversion was 10 starting him in tenth and Chris Hitchens in tenth. Hitchens was first chased by John Emory and then Matt Hill. Clint Chalabala took over second on lap four. The race was smooth up until lap 13. In the final two laps there were five cautions.

Hitchens held off Chalabala on every restart and edged him for the win at the finish in the Connell Roofing No. 77. It was an emotional celebration in victory lane as Hitchens dedicated the win to his car owner, Jeff Schrock who passed away during the winter. Chalabala finished a close second with Kelly Putz coming on strong in the closing laps to finish in third. Fourth went to Matt Hill and Tyler Reed came from 10th to finish in fifth.

This Saturday night the United Racing Company Sprints make their first of six appearances this season along with the five weekly divisions. Gates open at 4:30 p.m. with hot laps at 7 p.m.

Late Model Finish: 1. Richard Jarvis Jr; 2. Austin Hubbard; 3. Derrike Hill; 4. David Hill; 5. Hal Browning; 6. David Pettyjohn; 7. Staci Warrington; 8. Ricky Elliott; 9. Kerry King; 10. Donald Lingo Jr; 11. Amanda Whaley; 12. Herb Tunis; 13. Rob Schirmer; 14. Lou Johnson; 15. Mike  Parsons; 16. Bob Geiger; 17. Andrew Mullins; DNS: Dale Lingo

Crate Model Finish: 1. Chris Hitchens; 2. Clint Chalabala; 3. Kelly Putz; 4. Matt Hill; 5. Tyler  Reed; 6. Mike Wharton; 7. Kevin Hill; 8. John  Imler; 9. Sparky White; 10. John Emory; 11. Clay Tatman; 12. Robbie Emory; 13. Nick Davis; 14. Gus Economides; 15. Derek Magee; 16. Matt Glanden; 17. David  Nailor; 18. Roy Hassler; 19. Kevin Witcher; 20. Joe Warren; 21. Mike Wilson; 22. Dylan Evans; 23. Kellie Lewis; 24. Rob Bragg; 25. Cody Dawson; 26. Colby Steele; DNS: Billy Carr; Stacy Roberts; Reese Masiello