By Charlie Brown, Delmar, DE (5/7/11) – Dana Walker of Sharptown, Md. pulled a major upset in Saturday night’s William J. Cathell Memorial 25-lap NAPA Big Block Modified feature. Walker started on the poll and survived late race mechanical problems to post the win.

Walker started on the pole by virtue of the eight car inversion draw and quickly settled into the top groove. George Richardson rolled to a stop on the back straight to bring out the yellow on lap one. On the restart, Brad Trice moved by Steve Downs to take second.

Robert Dutton worked into the third spot by lap three with H.J. Bunting coming from eighth to fourth. By lap six, Beau Wilkins had moved from tenth to fifth. Dutton took second from Trice on a lap nine restart but Trice took the spot back on lap ten.

At the halfway sign the top five were Walker, Trice, Dutton, Bunting and Matt Jester. Jester got by Bunting just as the yellow came out for Downs on lap 15. Kyle Fuller brought the yellow on lap 16 and on the ensuing restart, Dutton slowed in front of the pack stacking up the field on the front straight. Both Joseph Watson and Wilkins received damage and headed to the pits.

Jester would end his night on the following restart as his car did not come up to speed. Bunting dropped Trice to third with five to go and started to run down Walker. The final yellow was out on lap 23 when Tim Trimble came to a stop in the fourth turn.

Walker’s car was obviously suffering from some rear suspension failure but he was able to hold off Bunting by .124 seconds at the checkered. “I felt the rear of the car drop down on that last caution,” said Walker. I guess I just got lucky.

Bunting finished in the second spot with Kenny Brightbill coming on in the final five laps to finish in third. Fourth went to Trice and Howard O’Neal rounded out the top five. Heats were won by Bunting and Scott Ambruster, Jr.

John Curtis set the early pace in the 15-lap AC Delco TSS Modified feature. Brandon Blades chased from second until lap nine when he got around in the fourth turn and collected Joseph Tracy who was running in fourth. Scott Baker trailed Curtis until Matt Hawkins used the outside line to take second with two laps to go.

Hawkins kept up his momentum on the outside and edged in front of Curtis at the white flag. He would hold the top spot to collect his second checkered of the season. Curtis finished in the second spot with Baker third. Fourth went to Westley Smith and Justin Griffith came from 20th to finish in fifth. Fast time in qualifying was set by Tracy.

Landis Musser ended Brandon Dennis’ win streak at two in the 15-lap Mod Lite feature. Kevin McKinney held off Dennis in the early stages with Musser, Kerry King, Jr. and Jason Musser running in the top five. The only caution of the event came on lap six when Trey Hicks came to a stop. On the restart, Musser took the second spot and on lap nine moved by McKinney for the lead. Dennis followed into the second spot and challenged Landis with two to go. Landis held off the bid for the lead and went on to the win. Dennis finished in second with McKinney third. Jimmy Wills made his first start of the season and came home fourth and King rounded out the top five. Fast time in qualifying was set by McKinney.

RESULTS: NAPA Big Block Modified Finish: 1. Dana Walker; 2. HJ Bunting; 3. Kenny Brightbill; 4. Brad Trice; 5. Howard ONeal; 6. Eric Kormann; 7. Scott Amburster Jr; 8. Norman Short Jr; 9. Dale Hawkins; 10. Joseph Watson; 11. Michael White; 12. Scott Irwin; 13. Neil Huber; 14. Shawn Ward; 15. Kyle Fuller; 16. Dwayne Heck; 17. Tim Trimble; 18. Robert Dutton; 19. Matt Jester; 20 Beau Wilkins; 21. Steven Downs; 22. George Richardson; 23. Drew  Simmons.

AC Delco TSS Modified Finish: 1. Matt Hawkins; 2. John Curtis; 3. Scott Baker; 4. Westley Smith; 5. Justin Griffith; 6. Danny Smack; 7. Jamie Eichholz; 8. Bryan Applegate; 9. Herbie Hempel; 10. Garrie Bostwick; 11. Brandon Blades; 12. Greg Taylor; 13. Eric Vent; 14. Nate Benson; 15. Scott Hitchens; 16. Dwayne Crockett; 17. Joseph Tracy; 18. Herman Powell; 19. Tyler Reed; 20. Trent Willey.

Mod Lite Finish: 1. Landis Musser; 2. Brandon Dennis; 3. Kevin McKinney; 4. Jimmy Wills; 5. Kerry King Jr; 6. Kirk Miles Sr; 7. Alan Passwaters; 8. Curt Miles Jr; 9. Jason Musser; 10. Chad Passwaters; 11. Ray Gulliver; 12. Brandon Keim; 13. Trey Hicks; 14. Erik McKinney.