He has been fast on more than one occasion and has led many laps in the feature but second year driver, Andrew Mullins never seems to be able to put together a complete run. That all changed on Saturday night as Mullens put on a great battle with WoO regular and good friend, Austin Hubbard to win the 20-lap Late Model feature.


A good field of 21 Late Models was on hand with heats going to Mullins and Hal Browning and the consolation went to Mike Parsons. The inversion draw was zero putting Mullins on the pole for the main.


Mullins and Browning went at each other at the drop of the green. The yellow was out on lap two when Ricky Elliott slowed with a flat tire. Elliott would make the tire change and get back out at the rear of the field. Hubbard made it a three car battle on the restart and took second from Browning on lap five. The yellow was out on the next circuit as Richard Jarvis, Jr. and Herb Tunis came to a stop.


On the restart Derrike Hill grabbed second but by halfway it was Mark Byram on the charge and running in third. Donald Lingo, Jr. worked into the fourth spot and Browning held on in the top five.


Just as it looked like Hubbard was going to make a last lap challenge, Mike Parsons got around in the third turn bringing out the yellow with one to go. Mullins would make not slips on the final lap and crossed the line pumping his first in the air in triumph. He was joined in victory lane and congratulated by Hubbard. Lingo Jr. got by Byram to finish in fourth and Browning rounded out the top five.


“We’ve been struggling a little bit here since we started this year,” said Mullins. “But my crew did a phenomenal job. Whew, I needed this one. It’s a confidence builder.”


Late Model Feature Finish: 1. Andrew Mullins; 2. Austin Hubbard; 3. Donald Lingo Jr; 4. Mark Byram; 5. Hal Browning; 6. Ricky Elliott; 7. Kenny Pettyjohn; 8. Amanda Whaley; 9. David Pettyjohn; 10. Richard Jarvis Jr; 11. David Hill; 12. Staci Warrington; 13. Herb Tunis; 14. Kevin Scott Jr; 15. Bob Geiger; 16. Mike  Parsons; 17. Kerry King; 18. Derrike Hill; 19. Rob Schirmer; 20. Lou Johnson; DNQ: Eddie Collins.