By Charlie Brown, Delmar, DE (5/21/11) – It may have been the luck of the draw or it may have been just his time but regardless, things turned out pretty good for Matt Jester in Saturday night’s Big Block Modified feature. Jester won the first heat and when the inversion draw came up zero it put him on the pole for the main.


Jester, who has been strong all season but has had some ups and downs, had nothing but good things happen in the feature. The race would be caution free for the first 19 circuits. Jester took off in the lead from the point in the Delaware Start as Dana Walker shot by Eric Kormann for second. Last week’s winner Brad Trice ran in the fourth spot and Kenny Brightbill worked by Robert Dutton for fourth.


The order remained unchanged through the first half but the leaders were working heavy lapped traffic. Jester seemed to be able to run any line that he chose as he threaded his way through the cars. Brightbill started to pick up the pace and took fourth from Trice on lap 18. One lap later, the first yellow was out as Drew Simmons spun to a stop.


H.J. Bunting had been picking off a car at a time and entered the top five with four to go after starting in 23rd in his backup car. Walker started to fade as Brightbill moved from fourth to second and Bunting followed into third.


Jester would never let anyone get close as he powered to the win. Brightbill finished a season’s best in second with Bunting ending an outstanding drive in third. Fourth went to newcomer Eric Kormann and Trice rounded out the top five.


“Starting on the pole a lot of people thinks that is easy but it is the most nerve racking thing that you can do,” said Jester. “It’s much easier sometimes to come from 23rd. Just the way the car was it was hard for us to touch it after the heat. The track threw us for a loop and we missed on the setup but fortunately we started with good track position for the first time this year.”


This Saturday night will be R.C. Holloway Night with the URC Sprints joining the five weekly divisions. Gates open at 4:30 with hot laps at 7 pm.


Big Block Modified Feature Finish: 1. Matt Jester; 2. Kenny Brightbill; 3. HJ Bunting; 4. Eric Kormann; 5. Brad Trice; 6. Dana Walker; 7. Robert Dutton; 8. Michael White; 9. Scott Amburster Jr; 10. Beau Wilkins; 11. Howard ONeal; 12. Shawn Ward; 13. George Richardson; 14. Dale Hawkins; 15. Tim Trimble; 16. Norman Short Jr; 17. Scott Irwin; 18. Jerry Carter; 19. Kyle Fuller; 20. Drew  Simmons; 21. Larry Soloman; 22. Shawn Weber; DNS: Joseph Watson.