John Curtis Gets First Win of 2011 in AC Delco Modified Feature

AC Delco Modified point leader John Curtis finally got what he had been looking for this season – a win. Curtis got a great start at the drop of the green as was able to drive past Brandon Blades and Justin Griffith to lead lap one.


Curtis pulled away until the first yellow on lap seven tightened the field. At the halfway sign the top five were Curtis, Griffith, Norman Short, Joseph Tracy and Matt Hawkins.

Griffith made a challenge for the lead but the yellow ended his bid when Hawkins came to a stop with one lap to go.


Curtis had no problems on the restart and held the point to the checkered for his first win this season in the Taylor & Messick/Teo. Griffith finished in the second spot with Short third. Fourth went to Tracy and Westley Smith rounded out the top five. Fast time in qualifying was set by rookie Trent Willey.


AC Delco TSS Finish: 1. John Curtis; 2. Justin Griffith; 3. Norman Short Jr; 4. Joseph Tracy; 5. Westley Smith; 6. Trent Willey; 7. Herman Powell; 8. Scott Hitchens; 9. Danny Smack; 10. Scott Baker; 11. Eric Vent; 12. Jamie Eichholz; 13. Dwayne Crockett; 14. Herbie Hempel; 15. Nate Benson; 16. Tyler Reed; 17. Brandon Blades; 18. Matt Hawkins; 19. Garrie Bostwick; 20. Bryan Breasure; 21. Bryan Applegate.