The 15-lap Mod Lite feature was the first in a six race series to determine the TUSA Mid Atlantic Regional Champion. Jimmy Wills got off to a great start in the series by leading wire to wire for his first win since winning the Fall Championship in 2009.


Eric McKinney pressured Wills in the early going before dropping out with mechanical problems. Brother Kevin McKinney stepped up to give chase but Wills was not to be denied his first win of the year. A caution with one lap to go kept the pressure on but Wills held on and snapped Ty Short’s win streak of four starts and four wins. Kevin McKinney finished in second with Brandon Dennis third. Fourth went to Landis Musser and Curt Miles, Jr. rounded out the top five. Fast time in qualifying was set by Wills.

TUSA Mod Lite Finish: 1. Jimmy Wills; 2. Kevin Mckinney; 3. Brandon Dennis; 4. Landis Musser; 5. Curt Miles Jr; 6. Ray Gulliver; 7. Jason Musser; 8. Alan Passwaters; 9. Kirk Miles Sr; 10. Chad Passwaters; 11. Kerry King Jr; 12. Brandon Kiem; 13. Ty Short; 14. Nick Nash; 15. Jake Nelson; 16. Erik McKinney.