By Charlie Brown, Delmar, DE (8/6/11) – When you talk to driver Matt Jester about racing for the championship in the NAPA Big Block Modifies he always has the same answer, “I’m just focusing on winning races and the rest will take care of it’s self.” He did just that in the 25-lap Sysco Eastern Maryland sponsored feature Saturday night at the Delaware International Speedway.


The Big Block feature was a real barn burner that started with Dale Hawkins out front. Beau Wilkins swept by to lead lap two and looked strong until the engine started to smoke on lap four. Wilkins would lead lap five but the motor went up in smoke and would not shut off. Wilkins had to exit the car due to the smoke with the car still running. He was treated at the track and was okay.


Hawkins was now back on top with last week’s winner Robert Dutton in second and JoJo Watson in third. Jester had started in tenth and pulled into the top five behind H.J. Bunting. By lap seven his was fourth and two laps later third.


Bunting came to a stop on lap 11 with a flat tire and would restart at the rear after the change. On the restart, Jester shot by both Dutton and Hawkins to lead at halfway. From that point on it would be all Jester.


Brad Trice made a nice run from 11th taking third from Dutton with one lap to go. At the checkered it was Jester for the sixth time this season taking the win. Hawkins posted a season’s best in second with Trice third. Watson took fourth on the final lap and Dutton rounded out the top five. Rookies Eric Kormann and Kyle Fuller won the heats.

RESULTS: NAPA Big Block Modified Finish: 1. Matt Jester; 2. Dale Hawkins; 3. Brad Trice; 4. Joseph Watson; 5. Robert Dutton; 6. Kenny Brightbill; 7. HJ Bunting; 8. Dana Walker; 9. Eric Kormann; 10. Howard ONeal; 11. Kyle Fuller; 12. Michael White; 13. George Richardson; 14. Duane Rust; 15. Scott Van Gorder; 16. Beau Wilkins; 17. Chris Glanden; 18. Jamie Mills.