By Charlie Brown, Delmar, DE (9/3/11) – Matt Jester moved one step closer to winning his first NAPA Big Block Modifieds track championship after he recorded his seventh win of the season in Saturday night’s 25-lap feature at the Delaware International Speedway.


The inversion draw was a zero which placed Jester on the pole after winning his heat going away. Jester went to the high groove at the drop of the green and would lead wire to wire. Brad Trice and Kenny Brightbill tried to keep Jester in sight in the early going.


H.J. Bunting quickly worked his way into the top five from his seventh starting spot and by lap eight had moved by Trice for second. At the halfway sign the top five were Jester, Bunting, Trice, Brightbill and Jamie Mills.


A caution on lap 16 erased Jester’s advantage and put Bunting on his bumper. Mills grabbed fourth on the restart with Beau Wilkins following into fifth. With four laps to go, Scott Ambruster, Jr., who was running in the sixth spot, got around to bring out the final yellow.


Mills grabbed third from Trice on the restart but it would be Bunting chasing Jester to the checkered. Mills finished in the third spot with Trice fourth and Wilkins rounded out the top five. Heats were won by Jester and Trice.


RESULTS: NAPA Big Block Finish: 1. Matt Jester; 2. HJ Bunting; 3. Jamie Mills; 4. Brad Trice; 5. Beau Wilkins; 6. Kenny Brightbill; 7. Eric Kormann; 8. Robert Dutton; 9. Dale Hawkins; 10. Tim Trimble; 11. Scott Amburster Jr; 12. Scott Van Gorder; 13. Michael White; 14. Howard ONeal; 15. Jimmy Chester; 16. Scott Irwin; 17. Duane Rust; 18. George Richardson; 19. Kyle Fuller; 20. Joseph Watson; 21. Deron Rust.