By Charlie Brown, Delmar, DE (4/21/12) – The Kyle Dixon Memorial fell victim to the weather as heavy rain hit the speedway moments after qualifying had been completed. The event will be rescheduled at a date yet to be determined.

Winning in the qualifying heats were Brad Trice and Jamie Mills in the NAPA Big Block Modifieds. In the Super Late Model heats it was Stacy Warrington and Richard Jarvis, Jr. taking the wins. Fast timers in timed qualifying sessions included: Jimmy Wills in the Mod Lites; Brandon Blades in the AC Delco PSC Modifieds and Sparky White in the Crate Models. Ty Short won the AC Delco consolation.

Several teams made their first appearance of 2012 on Saturday night. Ricky Elliott, Austin Hubbard and Andrew Mullins made their first starts in the Super Late Models; Dana Walker, Steve Downs, and Matt Hawkins made their first NAPA Big Block starts; Rodney Cordrey and Donnie Radd in the AC Delco Modifieds and Ryan Dryden in the Modifieds Lites.

This Saturday night will be the William J. Cathell Memorial featuring the first of three appearances by the United Racing Company Sprint cars along with the five weekly divisions. Gates open at 4:30 p.m. with hot laps at 7 p.m.