The Super Late Model field was super quick on Saturday night at the Delaware International Speedway and when the checkered flag fell, it was Georgetown, Del.’s Mark Byram ending a long win drought by holding off Ricky Elliott for the win.

David Pettyjohn took command from his pole starting spot with Mark Byram moving by Herb Tunis for second. Byram immediately began to apply pressure to the lead and when Pettyjohn slid high in the fourth turn on lap four, Byram drove by on the bottom to take the lead.

Ricky Elliott started in the eighth spot but quickly climbed to second bringing Richard Jarvis, Jr. with him in third.  A tangle on a lap seven restart found Kevin Scott, Jr. getting over the nose of Lou Johnson’s car and rolling onto its roof. Scott was not injured in the crash.

At the halfway sign the top five were Byram, Elliott, Jarvis, Pettyjohn and Herb Tunis. Tunis slowed on lap 12 bringing out the yellow and moving Amanda Whaley into the top five. The remainder of the race was under the green with Elliott making several bids for the lead and Byram holding off the challenges.

Byram took the win in the Charles Jarvis/Seaside Builders /Rocket just seven tenths of a second ahead of Elliott. “It’s been a long time coming,” said Byram. “I’m glad it finally happened. It takes a lot off of me.”

Jarvis finished three second back in third with David Pettyjohn ending up in fourth and Whaley fifth. Heats were won by Dale Lingo and Byram with Ray Davis, Jr. taking the consolation.

Super Late Model Finish: 1. Mark Byram; 2. Ricky Elliott; 3. Richard Jarvis, Jr.; 4. David Pettyjohn; 5. Amanda Whaley; 6. Staci Warrington; 7. Kerry King; 8. Ray Davis, Jr.; 9. Rob Schirmer; 10. Kerry King, Jr.; 11. Bob Geiger; 12. Herb Tunis; 13. Jack Mullins, Jr.; 14. Stacy Roberts; 15. David Hill; 16. Kevin Scott, Jr.; 17. Lou Johnson; 18. Dale Lingo IV; 19. Donald Lingo, Jr.; 20. Mike Parsons; DNS: Bruce Driver