By Charlie Brown, Delmar, DE (8/4/12) – The drivers that are one and two in points put on a classic battle in Saturday night’s Sysco Eastern Maryland sponsored NAPA Big Block 25-lap feature at the Delaware International Speedway. Jamie Mills and H.J. Bunting came through the field and swapped the lead right up to the final lap before Mills moved on top to take the win.

Heat wins went to Mills and Bunting and with the eight car inversions draw they would start eighth and seventh respectively in the main. Brad Trice shot by Scott VanGorder and Kyle Fuller to lead in the early stages as Bunting and Mills quickly picked their way to the front.

By lap three Bunting had moved into second as Mills battle Matt Jester for third. Bunting stuck his nose out front to lead lap six but Trice went to the top and regained the lead one lap later. Mills worked his way past Jester to take third but Jester wasn’t giving up and regained the spot on lap eight.

Things remained unchanged until the halfway point. Going down the back straight Trice began to slow as his right rear tire was going down. Bunting got by going into turn three but Jester couldn’t get checked up and made contact with Trice, almost getting upside down before coming to a stop and bringing out the yellow. Trice headed to the pits for a fresh tire and Jester restarted at the rear.

Bunting was the new leader with Mills second and Scott Ambruster, Jr., who had started in 12th, running in third. Beau Wilkins was running in the fourth spot and Howard O’Neal held down fifth.

Turn after turn Mills would pull to the inside of Bunting and Bunting would pull back out front down the straight. Mills took the lead with four to go and Bunting became the challenger. With two laps to go Bunting got back out front off turn two but Mills took it back coming to the white flag. Mills managed to hold on for the final circuit to post his fifth win of the season in the Will Brown No. 1W. Bunting finished a length back in second with Ambruster, Jr. make a great return finishing in third. Fourth went to Wilkins with O’Neal fifth.

“I tell you what, that was a ball,” said Mills. “We rubbed a little bit and I kind of smiled a little bit and I know he was probably was doing the same thing. We weren’t giving each other an inch but that’s what it’s all about, racing hard and racing clean.”

NAPA Big Block Modified Finish: 1. Jamie Mills; 2. HJ Bunting; 3. Scott Amburster Jr; 4. Beau Wilkins; 5. Howard ONeal; 6. Matt Jester; 7. Brad Trice; 8. Robert Dutton; 9. Michael White; 10. Shawn Ward; 11. Donny Radd; 12. Scott Van Gorder; 13. Duane Rust; 14. Steven Downs; 15. George Richardson; 16. Matt Hawkins; 17. Greg Calhoun; 18. Dale Hawkins; 19. Bill Williams; 20. Kyle Fuller.