By Charlie Brown, Delmar, DE (9/15/12) – The battle for the NAPA Big Block Modified Championship continued to heat up on Saturday night at the Delaware International Speedway. It appeared that Jamie Mills might be headed for another win but a late race flat rear tire turned over the lead and the win to his challenger in the race, H.J. Bunting.

Heats were won by Bunting and Mills but a six car inversion draw started them sixth and fifth respectively in the 25-lap main. Brad Trice led the first lap with Mills shooting to second. Bunting followed Mills into third with Matt Jester running fourth and Robert Dutton fifth.

Trice caught the back of the field by lap six as the leaders started to work traffic. On lap 11, Trice jumped the cushion and both Mills and Bunting shot by on the bottom. At the halfway sign the top five were Mills, Bunting, Trice, Jester and Dutton.

Jester’s car lost power on the next lap and rolled to a stop bringing out the yellow and continuing his year of miserable luck. Beau Wilkins, who started in 10th was now running in the fifth spot. The night went sour for Mills with four laps to go when his rear tire went flat. Mills got the tire changed under the yellow and rejoined the field at the rear.

Bunting was now on top with Trice in second and Kyle Fuller now in fifth. The rest of the race was all green with Bunting taking his seventh win of the season by a mere .7 seconds over Trice. Dutton turned in a season’s best in third with Beau Wilkins fourth and Kyle Fuller fifth.

NAPA Big Block Modified Finish: 1. HJ Bunting; 2. Brad Trice; 3. Robert Dutton; 4. Beau Wilkins; 5. Kyle Fuller; 6. Donny Radd; 7. Howard ONeal; 8. Dale Hawkins; 9. Richie Pratt Jr; 10. Matt Hawkins; 11. Michael White; 12. Scott VanGorder 13. Shawn Ward; 14. Jamie Mills; 15. Art Valdesere; 16. Matt Jester; 17. Larry Crouse; 18. Dana Walker; 19. Bobby Wilkins;20. Scott Amburster Jr; 21. Jeff Brown.