Saturday night acted as a tune up for Ricky Elliott’s defense of his win in last season’s Delaware State Dirt Track Championship. Elliott shot to the outside at the drop of the green and rocketed from sixth to lead lap one of the 20-lap Pepsi Super Late Model feature.


Lou Johnson held on to the second spot while Kerry King ran in third. King and Richard Jarvis, Jr. made contact on lap two with King getting around and bringing out the yellow. On the restart, Jarvis pulled to second with David Hill following into third.


Hill would loop his car on lap eight to bring out the second caution. On the restart, Brandon Dennis, making only his second Super Late Model start, took over the second spot dropping Jarvis to third. Nick Davis held down the fourth spot and invader, Roy Deese, Jr. had driven from last to fifth.


Deese locked into a good battle with Jarvis taking third with six to go. On lap later he got by Dennis just as the yellow came out for Kerry King, Jr. who came to a stop.


Anticipation was high that Deese would mount a challenge for the lead but on the restart, Elliott picked up the pace and drove away to his sixth win of the season.


“We need to get a little better than what we were,” said Elliott. “We missed a little bit and got tore up in the heat race but the track was nice and smooth.” Deese finished in the second spot with Jarvis third. Fourth went to Hill and Davis rounded out the top five. Heats were won by Davis and Hill.

Super Late Model Finish: 1. Ricky Elliott, 2. Roy Deese, Jr. 3. Richard Jarvis, Jr. 4. David Hill; 5. Nick Davis; 6. Brandon Dennis; 7. Kevin Scott, Jr.; 8. Lou Johnson; 9. Staci Warrington; 10. Kerry King, Jr.; 11. Bob Geiger; 12. Kerry King.