By Charlie Brown, Delmar, DE (10/6/12) – Jamie Mills climbed behind the wheel of his own No. 30 on Saturday night but the result was the same as he led flag to flag in the 25=lap Pepsi sponsored NAPA Big Block Modified feature at the Delaware International Speedway.


Mills took charge at the drop of the green with Howard O’Neal running in second. Brad Trice worked by Dale Hawkins to give chase from third and Robert Dutton followed into the fourth spot. Mills was able to quickly pull away from the field but a caution on lap seven would erase his lead.


On the restart, Trice took over the second spot with Matt Jester climbing into third. Jester got by Trice but Mills had already built a substantial lead. Just before the halfway sign H.J. Bunting had climbed into third. The race would only see the one caution on lap seven and went green the remainder of the distance.


Mills drove uncontested to the checkered by 1.96 seconds for his ninth win of the year. Jester finished a season’s best in second with Bunting third. Fourth went to Trice and Dutton rounded out the top five. Heats were won by Jester and Bunting.


“I tell you this thing was running pretty good,” said Mills. “With the open tires tonight we hit the tires just right and the track was good tonight. The guys gave me a good car tonight and that is what you are supposed to do with it.”

NAPA Big Block Modified Finish: 1. Jamie Mills; 2. Matt Jester; 3. H.J. Bunting; 4. Brad Trice; 5. Robert Dutton; 6. Howard O’Neal; 7. Bobby Wilkins; 8. Matt Hawkins; 9. Dale Hawkins; 10. Ron Roberts, Jr.; 11. Scott VanGorder; 12. Brian Lilick; 13. Shawn Ward; 14. Art Valdesere; 15. Glenn Reed; 16. Dana Walker; 17. Bobby Watkins; 18. Norman Short