By Charlie Brown, Delmar, DE – Drivers and fans took advantage of unseasonably warm temperatures and turned out in force Saturday night at the Dover Downs Hotel & Casino to honor the top drivers of the 2012 LateModelChamp

Jamie Mills won a hard fought battle for his third NAPA Big Block Modified title. Mills returned after a year off due to back surgery and drove to nine feature wins in the Will Brown Truck Repair/Bicknell.  Throughout the season Mills totaled 2090 points and earned $6200 from the point fund g Block Modified.  H.J. Bunting of Milford, Del. challenged Mills for the title right up to the final week but fell short by 85 points to finish in second and earn $3300. For the second straight season, third year driver, Brad Trice of Parsonsburg, Md. finished third overall with 1735 points earning $2550. Rounding out the top five were second generation driver, Beau Wilkins of Milford in fourth with 1559 ($2000) and defending champion, Matt Jester of Lincoln, Del. with 1512 points worth $1550.


Rounding out the top ten were: Howard O’Neal of Lincoln, 1419 ($1250);Robert Dutton of Milford, 1310 ($1050); Michael White of Laurel, Del., 1305 ($950); Dale Hawkins of Dover, Del. 1258 ($900) and Scott VanGorder of Laurel, 1206 ($850).  The “Rookie of the Year” award went to Matt Hawkins, son of Dale Hawkins, who moved from the AC Delco PSC Modifieds to the NAPA Big Block Modifieds in 2012. Trophies were presented by NAPA Auto Parts of Delmarva.


Defending Super Late Model point champion, Donald Lingo, Jr. successfully defended 2011 title for his third straight championship and his fifth overall in the division tying him with Lou Johnson and David Hill for second in most Super Late Model Championships. Lingo earned four wins for the second straight season driving the Lingo Marine/Ford earning 1938 points and $4200 from the point fund. Mark Byram of Georgetown, Del. had his best season since taking over the driving chores of the Charles Jarvis late model to finish second in points with 1763 ($2200). David Hill of Trappe, Md. continued to be a weekly threat finishing third overall with 1587 ($1450). Hometown driver, Kerry King of Delmar had his best year in the division finishing fourth overall with 1518 ($1050) and Ricky Elliott of Seaford, Del. racked up some big wins to finish in fifth with 1450 ($950) running a limited schedule.


Rounding out the top ten were Richard Jarvis, Jr. of Ocean City, Md. with 1439 ($750); Staci Warrington of Milton with 1408 ($650); Lou Johnson of Georgetown with 1280 ($625); Kerry King, Jr. of Delmar, 1139 ($600) and Bob Geiger of Laurel with 1026 ($550). Trophies were presented by Sysco Eastern Shore Maryland.


Matt “the Thrill” Hill of Georgetown captured his first Crate Model Championship in only his third year in the division. Matt spread seven wins during the year driving the Lynch’s Towing No. 84 to earn 1520 points and $1600. Four time champion Joe Warren of Georgetown came on strong near the end of the year to finish in second with 1435 ($725). Sparky White of Delmar had his best year in the standing finishing in third with 1295 ($525). Fourth went to Michael Wharton of Greenwood, Del. who earned 1280 ($425). Rounding out the top five was former champion Tyler Reed of


Finishing in sixth through tenth in order were: Derek Magee of Georgetown with 1170 ($275). Matt Glanden of Preston, Md. with 1125 ($225); Reese Masiello of Queenstown, Md with 972 ($200); Dylan Evan of Millsboro with 880 ($175) and Mike Wilson of Salisbury, Md.  with 833 ($150). Trophies were presented by Snookie’s Speed Parts of Milton.


The AC Delco TSS Modified division produced another first time winner in 2012. Jordan Watson returned to the division after a stint in the Big Block Modifieds  and posted eight wins including the Fall Championship to win the point title driving the Cortland Manor/Bicknell. Watson earned 1532 points and took home $1600 in cash from the point fund. Former champion Joseph Tracy of Dagsboro, Del. finished in the second spot for the second year in a row with 1375 ($725). Third went to young lion, Trent Willey of Milton with 1199 ($525). Chad Clark of Bridgeville, Del. returned to the division and finished in fourth with 1032 ($425). Rounding out the top five was Scott Baker of Sharptown, Md. with 1023 ($325).


Sixth through tenth in order were: Brandon Blades of Dagsboro, Del. with 994 ($275); defending champion John Curtis of Harrington, Del. with 974 ($225); Ty Short of Ellendale, Del. with 965 ($200); Westley Smith of Delmar with 958 ($175) and Scott Hitchens of Gumboro, Del. with 879 ($150).  Trophies were presented by R.C. Holloway of Salisbury, Md.


Jimmy Wills of Felton, Del. dominated the Mod Lite division in his American Legion Post 2/Pro Chassis to earn his first championship in the division. Will recorded eight wins including the Fall Championship to earn 1650 point worth $1200. Ray Guliver of Magnolia, Del. put together back to back wins mid-season that helped in his second place finish with 1465 points ($500). Third went to James Hill of Laurel who missed part of the season due to a hard crash but he still totaled five wins earning 1275 ($475). Fourth went to Landis Musser of Laurel with 1180 ($375) and four time champion, Brandon Dennis of Harrington finished fifth with 1105 ($325).


Finishing in sixth through tenth in the standings were: Brandon Sturgis of Seaford, 1070 ($275); Curt Miles, Jr. of Saxis, Va. with 960 ($250); Jason Musser of Vines Creek, Del. with 915 ($225); Kirk Miles of Saxis with 885 ($200) and Alan Passwaters of Seaford with 850 ($150). Trophies were presented by Pepsi Bottling Ventures of Salisbury, Md.


Jimmy Wills also received the Kyle Dixon Memorial Achievement Award. The award is giving to the driver that finishes highest in the point standings in any division that was 18 or younger at the start of the season.


All champions received championship jackets from American Racer, gold cards for admission in 2012 and necklaces. s. In order of points the champions also got to draw for awards such as a night in the VIP suit, season parking spots and season passes.


The sponsors on the 2012 Delaware International Speedway Money Trail were individually recognized for their support and contributions. They included: R.C. Holloway Co., Scott’s Furniture; Snookie’s Speed Parts; Taylor & Messick; Lias Tire; Sysco Eastern Maryland; Clark’s Swimming Pools, Inc.; Sussex Scrap Metal; Bradley Distribution, Inc.; NAPA; Pepsi; Nucar Connection and Pro Race Cars.