By CHARLIE BROWN, DELMAR, DE  (4/13/13) – 2011 Big Block Modified Champion, Matt Jester went winless in 2012. That winless streak  came to an end on opening night Saturday as he captured the 25-lap NAPA Big Block Modified feature on “Delmar Night.”


Jester and H.J. Bunting started off their season by winning their respective heat races. Jester started on the pole in the feature and quickly set the pace with Bunting chasing from second. Defending champion, Jamie Mills pressured from the third spot with Beau Wilkins fourth and Brad Trice fifth.


Jester slipped high in the second turn on lap seven and both Bunting and Mills shot by. Bunting led to the third turn but he too slid high in the turn and Mills took the lead. At the halfway sign the top five were Mills, Bunting, Jester, Wilkins and Michael White.


On lap 19, Mills lost the handle and spun to a stop at the top of the fourth turn bringing out the yellow. Jester had just gotten back by Bunting and found himself back in the lead. The final yellow would come on lap 22 when White lost and engine and slowed to a stop.


Jester would control the final two circuits and drove his Clearview Farms/Bicknell to the win. Bunting finished in second with Wilkins third. Fourth went to Trice and Matt Hawkins posted a personal best in the division finishing in fifth. “Sometimes it’s better to be lucky than good” said Jester. “Last year I didn’t have any luck so I think this one is a payback from last year.”


NAPA Big Block Modified Finish: 1. Matt Jester, 2. H.J. Bunting, 3. Beau Wilkins, 4. Brad Trice, 5. Matt Hawkins, 6. Scott VanGorder, 7. Jamie Mills, 8. Dana Walker, 9. Howard O’Neal, 10. Robert Dutton, 11. Kyle Fuller, 12. Dale Hawkins, 13. Bobby Watkins, 14. Michael White, 15. Jeff Brown, 16. Donnie Radd, 17. Eric Valdesere, DNS: Art Valdesere Jr.Jester