millsBy CHARLIE BROWN, DELMAR, DE – Everyone knew it would only be a matter of time before defending NAPA Big Block Modified champion, Jamie Mills would be back in victory lane. After a slow start to the season, Mills was back in top form on Saturday night as he drove to the win in the 25-lap main.


.Jeff Brown started on the pole and grabbed the early lead before some contact shuffled him back in the pack. Matt Jester jumped on top with Beau Wilkins in second. H.J. Bunting was on an early race charge coming from fifth to second by lap two.


Bunting began to challenge Jester from the low groove. Mills, who started in sixth took third from Wilkins just before halfway and one lap later Bunting got by Jester for the lead. Mills battled with Jester until lap sixteen when he was able to garner the spot.


Bunting had a comfortable lead but that was erased when George Richardson came to a stop to bring out the yellow with five to go. On the restart, Bunting was first to the first turn but the car pushed up the turn and Mills shot by on the bottom. Brad Trice, who had been working his way through the top five followed into second as Bunting recovered and locked into a fight with Matt Jester for third.


At the checkered, it was Mills taking the win with Trice second and Bunting third. Fourth went to Jester and Wilkins rounded out the top five. Heats were won by Mills and Bunting. “We tore two cars up last week and I was a little under the weather but the boys back there in the pits came down and put in a lot of hours and it paid off,” said Mills.


NAPA Big Block Modified Finish: 1. Jamie Mills; 2. Brad Trice; 3. H.J. Bunting; 4. Matt Jester; 5. Beau Wilkins; 6. Joseph Watkins; 7. Howard O’Neal; 8. Matt Hawkins; 9. Robert Dutton; 10. Dale Hawkins; 11. Donnie Radd; 12. Jeff Brown; 13. Scott VanGorder; 14. Dana Walker; 15. Bobby Watkins; 16. Shawn Weber; 17. Michael White; 18. George Richardson; 19. Art Valdesere, Jr.