Howard O’Neal benefited from the six car inversion in the 25-lap NAPA Big Block Modified feature and started on the pole. H.J. Bunting was able to pull past Beau Wilkins to grab second on the first circuit. It quickly became clear the O’Neal was the quickest car as he pulled away but two quick yellows on laps three and four would keep the field on his tail.


The next ten laps were all under the green and O’Neal was able to build a two second advantage over Bunting. Jamie Mills worked by Brad Trice for fourth with Matt Jester following into fifth. By halfway Bunting was starting to eat into O’Neal’s advantage and with ten to go the final yellow was out when Drew Simmons rolled to a stop.


On the restart Bunting turned up the wick and with eight to go took the lead. Mills and Wilkins battled for the third spot but with five to go Mills was able to get by both Wilkins and O’Neal for second. Bunting would maintain a comfortable lead to the finish for his second win in a row. Mills finished in second with O’Neal ending an impressive drive in third. Fourth went to Wilkins and Jester rounded out the top five. Heats were won by Mills and Wilkins.


“The car really pickup up around halfway after I had burned off some of the fuel,” said Bunting. “I’m pleased to get another good finish.”


NAPA Big Block Finish: 1. HJ Bunting; 2. Jamie Mills; 3. Howard ONeal; 4. Beau Wilkins; 5. Matt Jester; 6. Scott Amburster Jr; 7. Brad Trice; 8. Robert Dutton; 9. Michael White; 10. Dale Hawkins; 11. Dana Walker; 12. Kyle Fuller; 13. Shawn Ward; 14. Dave Dissinger; 15. Bobby Watkins; 16. Drew Simmons; 17. Adam Weber; 18. Art Valdesere Jr; DNS: George Richardson; Dave Simmons. Bunting2