By CHARLIE BROWN, DELMAR, DE (7/6/13)  – For once the inversion draw worked in H.J. Bunting favor as the draw was zero putting Bunting on the pole for the 25-lap Kyle Dixon Memorial Big Block Modified feature at the Delaware International Speedway Saturday night. Bunting captured the first qualifying heat and invader, Rick Laubach won the second putting them one/two on the grid.

Bunting set a quick pace from the drop of the green with Laubach running a close second . Last week’s feature winner, Beau Wilkins was running in third but slowed on the fourth lap to bring out the yellow and end his night. Donnie Radd took over the third spot on the restart with Scott VanGorder and Matt Jester making it a three car battle for the spot.

Jamie Mills was tearing through the field after stating in 18th position. By lap eight he had cracked the top five. Matt Jester got by Laubach on lap 11 and Mills followed into third. At the halfway sign Mills was up to second behind Bunting with Jester, Laubach and Dana Walker running third through fifth.

Bunting never abandoned the high groove as Mills challenged on the bottom. In the final five laps Bunting was able to open up some breathing room allowing his to drive to his third win of the year. Mills ended a great drive in second with Jester third. Fourth went to Laubach and Walker turned in a season’s best in fifth.

“I wasn’t going to go to the bottom,” said Bunting. “If he (Mills) was going to beat me he was going to have to do it on the bottom and I was able to hold on. It’s been a good year so far. I would like to thank the crew. After the heat we had a couple of leaks and they were able to patch things up and keep us going.”

Kyle Dixon Memorial NAPA Big Block Finish: 1. HJ Bunting; 2. Jamie Mills; 3. Matt Jester; 4. Rick Laubach; 5. Dana Walker; 6. Eric Kormann; 7. Brad Trice; 8. Howard O’Neal; 9. Donnie Radd; 10. Scott VanGorder; 11. Shawn Ward; 12. Michael White; 13. Dominic Buffalino; 14. Scott Amburster Jr; 15. Matt Hawkins; 16. Robert Dutton; 17. Beau Wilkins; 18. Drew Simmons; 19. Dale Hawkins; 20. Kyle Fuller. Bunting 3