By CHARLIE BROWN, DELMAR, DE – A huge crowd and an equally large field of 131 cars turned out on Tuesday night to support the Delaware State Police and their 41st Annual Camp Barnes Benefit at the Delaware International Speedway. A mid-event shower didn’t dampen the spirits of the fans who were treated to some outstanding action. Brad Trice of Parsonsburg, Md. drove to his biggest career payday earning $3000 plus lap money in the 25-lap NAPA Big Block Modified feature and Austin Hubbard of Seaford, Del. got his second win of the season and his first Camp Barnes win earning $3000 plus lap money in the 25-lap Super Late Model main. Other winners on the night included: Matt Hill in the Crate Models; Jordan Watson in the AC Delco PSC Modifieds; Mike Stratton in the Mod Lites; Jamie Wagner in the Little Lincoln Vintage Cars; Matt Long in the Super Trucks and Geoff Carey in the Delmarva Chargers.


In the 25-lap NAPA Big Block Modified feature it was Shawn Ward leading the first two circuits before Beau Wilkins took the lead on lap three. Going into the third turn, Matt Jester made a bid under Ward for second but got over his wheel and catapulted off the third turn. Jester’s car was badly damaged but he walked to the pits on his own.


Brad Trice was now running in second behind Wilkins on the restart. Trice got a fantastic run off the second turn and passed Wilkins for the lead going into three. Once out front Trice quickly started to pull away from the field. Heat winners, Jamie Mills and H.J. Bunting were on the move from their seventh and eighth starting spots and were up to second and third by lap seven. The pair could only watch Trice fade into the distance in front of them as Trice opened a 3.3 second advantage.


That lead was wiped out shortly after halfway when the second and final caution flew for Bobby Watkins who lost and engine down the front straight. On the restart Mills made a quick bid for the lead going into one but Trice again was able to pull away. Trice would make no mistakes as he powered to his first win of the season. The winner was emotional in victory lane as he spoke of the many hardships that the team had endured during the season. Defending race winner Mills settled for second with Bunting third. Eric Kormann made a late race charge to finish in fourth and Scott VanGorder rounded out the top five.


NAPA Big Block Modified Finish: 1. Brad Trice; 2. Jamie Mills; 3. H.J. Bunting; 4. Eric Kormann; 5. Scott VanGorder; 6. Beau Wilkins; 7. Howard O’Neal; 8. Drew Simmons; 9. Bobby Watkins; 10. Glenn Reed; 11. Shawn Ward; 12. Matt Jester; DNS: Dale Hawkins; Matt Hawkins; Michael White.Trice