By CHARLIE BROWN, DELMAR, DE – Second generation driver Beau Wilkins continued to have the best year of his career as he drove to his third win of the season in the R.C. Holloway 25-lap Big Block Modified feature Saturday night at the Delaware International Speedway. It was also “Tribute to Kramer Williamson” night and fans, donned in pink, turned out in large numbers to support the Williamson family who were on hand.


H.J. Bunting and Matt Jester would sweep the qualifying heats but a four car inversion draw for the feature placed Wilkins on the pole and Scott VanGorder second on the grid. The first circuit could have proved to be a disaster as VanGorder lost power in the fourth turn. Cars went in all directions but managed to avoid the crippled car.


Under the green Wilkins immediately went to the top groove with Jester in to in second and Mills powering into third. Brad Trice was running strong and took fourth from Bunting. Jester was able to pressure Wilkins in the early laps but Wilkins was up to the challenge. The leaders were working traffic by lap nine as Bunting worked back by Trice for fourth.


The second and final caution came out at the halfway point when Drew Simmons came to a stop. Wilkins seemed even more determined on the restart as Mills began to work on Jester for second and Bunting got off the first turn moving Trice to fourth and Dana Walker to fifth.


Wilkins was able to open some breathing room over Jester as Bunting worked back into the top five. Beau would make no mistakes and drove to his third win of the year over Jester. Mills blew a right rear tire coming off the fourth turn but was able to hold off Trice by a wheel for third as Bunting settled for fifth.


“It was definitely a starting spot I needed,” said Wilkins. “I don’t know how close Matt was but I knew he would be tough. I was just hammer down and didn’t look back. This win is for Kramer and his family and friends. I spent many years down here at Delmar watching Kramer get around this place. It was pretty awesome to win on his night.”


R.C. Holloway Big Block Modified Finish: 1. Beau Wilkins; 2. Matt Jester; 3. Jamie Mills; 4.Brad Trice; 5. HJ Bunting; 6. Dana Walker; 7. Shawn Ward; 8. Dave Dissinger; 9. Drew Simmons; 10. Dale Hawkins; 11. Art Valdesere Jr; 12. Duane Rust; 13. Scott VanGorder; 14. Howard ONeal; 15. Michael White; 16. Kyle Fuller. Beau 3