By Charlie Brown, Dover, DE – The banquet room at the Dover Downs Hotel & Casino was filled on Saturday night for the 2013 Delaware International Speedway Awards Banquet. The top ten in the five weekly divisions shared the $50,325 cash point fund and over $10,000 in contingency awards.

Matt Jester of Lincoln, Del. topped the NAPA Big Block Modified standings to earn his second track championship in three year. Jester destroyed his primary car mid-season but recovered to total six feature wins and earn 2524 points. Three time champion, Jamie Mills of Milford, Del. was the runner-up also winning six features and 2451 points. Third through fifth were five time champion, H.J. Bunting of Milford with five wins, Beau Wilkins of Milford with three wins and Brad Trice of Parsonsburg, Md. who won the Camp Barnes Benefit.

Sixth through tenth place drivers that received awards were: Howard O’Neal of Lincoln, Dana Walker of Sharptown, Md., Dale Hawkins of Dover, Del., Shawn Ward of Laurel, Del. and Scott VanGorder of Laurel. Dave Dissinger of Mohrsville, Pa. was awarded Rookie of the Year honors. Trophies were presented by NAPA Auto Parts.

In the Super Late Model division, Ricky Elliott of Seaford, Del. dominated the competition all season long as he rocketed to 17 wins including the Fall Championship and earning 2865 points and his first championship in the class. Five time champion Donald Lingo, Jr. of Millsboro took three feature wins and finished second in points with 2400. Third through fifth was Brandon Dennis of Harrington, Del. in his first full season in the division, second year driver Nick Davis of Gumboro, Del. and former five time champion Lou Johnson of Georgetown, Del.

Sixth through tenth in the standings were: Amanda Whaley of Millsboro who earned her first career win in 2013; five time champion David Hill of Trappe, Md.; veteran Bob Geiger of Laure; Staci Warrington of Milton, Del. and Kerry King of Delmar. Trophies were presented by U.S. Foods, Inc.

Jordan Watson of Milford successfully defended his 2012 championship in the AC Delco PSC Modifieds with 12 wins plus the Fall Championship and 2435 points. Former champion John Curtis of Harrington earned two victories and finished second with 1785 points. Third through fifth in the final standings were Trent Willey of Milton, Chad Clark of Bridgeville, Del. and Dwayne Crockett of Laurel.

Finishing sixth through tenth were: Danny Smack of Willards, Md.; Brandon Watkins of Harrington; Scott Hitchens of Gumboro; Westley Smith of Delmar and Eric Humlhanz of Chalfont, Pa. Richie Wilson of Laurel was Rookie of the Year. Matt Brandle of Lias Tire and American Racer presented Watson with an additional cash award for winning the American Racer Sportsman Cup over more the 200 other participants from several tracks in the Northeast.

Joe Warren of Georgetown made a late season charge totally six wins to earn his fifth title in the division with 2060 points. Michael Wharton of Greenwood, Del. posted two wins including the Fall Championship to finish in second with 1997 points. Third was defending champion Matt Hill of Georgetown with 8 wins. Sparky White of Delmar and former champion Tyler Reed of Milton rounded out the top five.

Sixth through tenth were; Reese Masiello of Centreville, Md.; Robert Walls, Jr. of Georgetown; Mike Wilson of Salisbury; Steven Baker of Georgetown and Derek Magee of Georgetown. Baker also received Rookie of the Year honors. Trophies were presented by Snookie’s  Speed Parts.

Mike Stratton of Camden, Del. piloted the Jack Vammino Modified Lite to nine wins including the Fall Championship to earn his first point title in the division with 2505 points. James Hill of Laurel was strong in the late season driving to six wins and earning 2185 points to finish in second. Third through fifth was Landis Musser of Laurel, Jason Musser of Vines Creek, Del., Aaron VanVorst of Georgetown, Ryan Dryden of Hebron, Md. and Brandon Sturgis of Seaford. Trophies were presented by Pepsi Bottling Ventures.

James Hill was also awarded the Kyle Dixon Youth Achievement Award in memory of Kyle Dixon and Walt Breeding of TUSA presented Hill with a champion’s jacket for winning the 2013 TUSA Mid-Atlantic Series.

All champions received championship jackets, “Gold Cards” for free admission in 2014, necklaces and beautiful one of a kind custom made marble and etched stainless steel trophies. They also drew for individual awards that included free pit parking spots, a season pass and a catered party for 20 people in the VIP lounge.

The $50,000 plus point fund was due largely in part to the following sponsors: Clark’s Swimming Pools, Inc.; Insinger Performance, Inc.; Lias Tire; Mar-Del Watermelon Association; NAPA; Pepsi; Pro Race Cars; R.C. Holloway Co.; S.R. Pete & Sons; Scott’s Furniture; Snookie’s Speed Parts; Sussex Scrap Metal; Taylor & Messick John Deere; US Foods, Inc. and Why Not Travel.dtbanquet