DELMAR, DE – Former three time track champion, Jamie Mills made up for a mediocre opening night performance as he drove to a definitive win in Saturday night’s Kyle Dixon Memorial at the Delaware International Speedway.


Scott VanGorder jumped out the early lead in the 25 lap NAPA Big Block main with Jordan Watson, who has moved back to the Big Blocks after two championships in the AC Delco crate modifieds running in second. Watson moved on top on lap three and one lap later, Mills, who started in sixth dropped VanGorder to third.


By lap 11 Mills had run down Watson as H.J. Bunting took over the third spot. Lap 13 proved to be unlucky for Watson as he lost oil pressure and pulled to the infield with Mills taking over the lead. The only yellow of the race would fly on lap 15 when both Dana Walker and Drew Simmons slowed.


Bunting would not be able to mount a serious challenge in the closing laps as Mills sped to the checkered. Bunting would hold off Matt Jester for second with Beau Wilkins taking fourth and Brad Trice coming on strong in the closing laps for fifth. Heats were won by Walker and Mills.


“The track was a little faster than I like to see it,” said Mills. “But the motor held on and I’m here in Victory Lane.”


NAPA Big Block Modified Finish: 1. Jamie Mills; 2. HJ Bunting; 3. Matt Jester; 4. Beau Wilkins; 5 Brad Trice; 6. Scott VanGorderl 7. Shawn Ward; 8. Bobby Watkins; 9. Michael White; 10. Dana Walker; 11. Drew Simmons; 12. Jordan WatsonJAMIE 1