By CHARLIE BROWN, DELMAR, DE – It only took half of the 25-lap Kramer Williamson Memorial for Milford, Del.’s H.J. Bunting to navigate his NAPA Big Block Modified to the front of the field from his eighth starting spot. Once out front however, he had to make a perfect drive to fend off Jamie Mills Saturday night at the Delaware International Speedway.


Heat winner Michael White started on the pole and led lap one before Beau Wilkins got around bringing out the early yellow.  White headed the restart but Jordan Watson would power to the front for lap three. Brad Trice was running a solid third and by lap five, both Bunting and Mills had worked into the top five. Bunting got by Trice two laps later but it would prove to be a tire that was slowing Trice as he rolled to a stop to bring out the second yellow on lap eight.


The caution had erased a big lead that Jordan Watson had built and on the restart, Bunting shot by White for second. The third and final caution would come out on lap ten when Shawn Weber rolled to a stop in one. Watson and Bunting raced hard with Bunting pulling ahead at the halfway sign. Mills followed into second with Jordan Watson dropping to third. Wilkins was on a charge from the rear after the early spin and was up to fourth with Joseph “JoJo” Watson running in fifth.


Mills was able to keep the pressure on Bunting for the remaining distance but the high groove was the fast groove and Bunting never ventured out of it driving to his third checkered of the season. Mills finished 1.5 seconds back in second with Jordan Watson, Wilkins, and JoJo Watson rounding out the top five. Heats were won by White and Mills.


“He (Watson) had gotten out front and had gotten a pretty good lead there and I was just trying to run the bottom and work my way up through,” said Bunting. “The caution definitely helped get us in shape for where we needed to get.”


NAPA Big Block Modified Finish: 1. H.J. Bunting; 2. Jamie Mills; 3. Jordan Watson; 4. Beau Wilkins; 5. Joseph Watson; 6. Bobby Watkins; 7. Dave Dissinger; 8. Michael White; 9. Shawn Ward;  10. Matt Jester; 11. Scott VanGorder; 12. Brad Trice; 13. Neil Huber; 14. Drew Simmons; 15. Dave Simmons; 16. Shawn Weber; 17. Matt Hawkins; 18. Dana Walker.Bunting3