By CHARLIE BROWN, DELMAR, DE – The William J. & Juanita Cathell Memorial finally got in on Saturday night at the Delaware International Speedway by just barely beating the rain in the area. An even 100 cars in seven divisions took part in the program.

Jamie Mills was not to be denied a win for the second week in a row. Dale Hawkins led the first five laps of the 25 lap main before last week’s winner, Jordan Watson moved on top. A four car tangle that involved two time winner, Beau Wilkins brought out the yellow on lap four. On the restart Mills shot by Hawkins for second bringing H.J. Bunting into third.

On lap nine Mills edged out front but the yellow was out again before the lap could be completed putting him back behind Watson again. It would only take Mills two more laps as he scraped under Watson in the second turn for the lead.

Once out front, he would never ease up building a two and a half second lead. With three to go the leader got into traffic and Watson began to close the gap. It would be too little too late as Mills threaded his way through traffic for his third win of the season. Watson settled for second with Howard Mullins making an impressive late race charge to finish in third. Shawn Ward came all the way from the rear of the field to finish in fourth and Brad Trice rounded out the top five. Heats were won by Bunting and Wilkins.

“I didn’t know how close anyone was,” said Mills. “So I just ran it as hard as it would go.”

NAPA Big Block Modified Finish: 1. Jamie Mills; 2. Jordan Watson; 3. Howard O’Neal; 4. Shawn Ward; 5. Brad Trice; 6. Beau Wilkins; 7. Dale Hawkins; 8. Bobby Watkins; 9. Dave Dissinger; 10. Robert Dutton; 11. Scott VanGorder; 12. Michael White; 13. Drew Simmons; 14. Neil Huber; 15. H.J. Bunting; 16. Dave Simmons.DSC00630