By Charlie Brown, Delmar, DE – Three point battles went right down to the wire and three drivers picked up their first wins of the season including one first career win Saturday night at the Delaware International Speedway.

Unofficially until official points are posted mid-week the following will be champions for 2017: Jamie Mills in the NAPA Big Block Modifieds; Ross Robinson in the S.R. Pete and Sons Super Late Models; Scott Hitchens in the AC Delco 602 Sportsman; Joe Warren in the RUSH Crate Late Models and James Hill in the Mod Lites.

In the 25-lap NAPA Big Block main, Carson Wright in his Mark Benson prepared small block drove by T.J. Williams to lead lap one. Michael White pulled into second on lap three with Brandon Watkins taking third on the following circuit.

H.J. Bunting was on a mission from his tenth starting spot after a couple quick cautions found himself up to fourth by lap five. Bunting was working the outside to perfection taking Watkins for third and a lap later getting by White for second. Bunting immediately began to pressure Wright, taking the lead on lap ten.

Kevin Sockriter was on a charge and was up to third behind Bunting and Wright. Sockriter may have been pushing a little too had as he spun bringing out the final yellow with ten to go. This put White back in third with Watkins fourth and Dave Dissinger in fifth.

Bunting was able to pull away to a comfortable lead as the defending champ drove to his first win of the season. Wright turned in his best drive finishing second and Watkins got by White for third after a race long battle between the two. Sockriter was able charge from the rear to get by Dissinger on the final lap for fifth.

“I was starting to wonder if I was going to win one this year,” said Bunting. “It’s been a miserable season for Jake and the crew. We came out with this new car two weeks ago and we are starting to get it dialed in. I just wish that Jamie (Mills), Jordan (Watson) and the guys had been here tonight to just see where we stand.”

Heats were won by Scott VanGorder and Sockriter. Jamie Mills clenched the point championship prior to Saturday night and was competing at Bridgeport.

NAPA Big Block Modified Finish: 1. H.J. Bunting; 2. Carson Wright; 3. Brandon Watkins; 4. Michael White; 5. Kevin Sockriter; 6. Dave Dissinger; 7. Shawn Ward; 8. Westley Smith; 9. Scott VanGorder; 10. T.J. Williams; 11. Dale Hawkins; 12. Brian Hitz; 13. Matt Jester; DNS: Robert Dutton; Matt Hawkins.