The RUSH Crate Late Models had a tight point battle coming into the final point race. Joe Warren, looking for his sixth championship held just a 36 point lead over Sparky White and a 50 point lead over both Matt Glanden and Matt Hill.

Jamie Eichholz led the first lap before David Pettyjohn moved on top. Lap two spelled near disaster for Joe Warren as he was collected in a tangle between the second third and fourth place cars of Chip Disharoon, Eichholz and Brandon Sturgis.

Warren was able to make a dash into the pits to address sheet metal issues and returned a half track behind the leaders when the green flew. Hill was focused on winning the championship and powered into second with Mike Wharton tucking in in third.

Warren, try to come from the rear tangled with Scott Tessman coming off four with Tessman coming to a stop against the wall and Warren continuing but heading back to the pits. Both were able to rejoin the field. Warren’s woes continued as he spun by himself to bring out his second caution on lap seven.

On the restart Wharton got back by Hill for second as Pettyjohn maintained the lead. Matt Glanden moved to the fourth spot with Sparky White closing in fifth. With five to go the red was out as Trevor Collins took a wild ride down the back straight. Collins got into the outside wall and climbed over it into the billboards before coming back down on the track and sliding upside down to the third turn. Collins’ car was righted and Collins climbed from the car uninjured.

The battle for second reheated on the restart with Hill climbing back to second with three to go. Pettyjohn would make no mistakes as he held off Hill and drove to his second straight victory. Wharton finished in third with White fourth and Derek Magee fifth. Warren was able to climb to ninth which was just enough to unofficially earn him his sixth crown by a mere five points. Official points will be posted mid-week. Heats were won by Hill and Disharoon.

Crate Model Finish: 1. David Pettyjohn; 2. Matt Hill; 3. Mike Wharton; 4. Sparky White; 5. Derek Magee; 6. Zac Weller; 7. Mike Wilson; 8. Cory Lawler; 9. Joe Warren; 10. Matt Glanden; 11. Scott Tessman; 12. Paul MaGinley; 13. Trevor Collins; 14. Chip Disharoon; 15. Daniel Drury; 16. Jamie Eichholz; 17. Brandon Sturgis.