By Charlie Brown, Delmar, DE (8/3/12) – It was a father and son sweep of the Bad 8 divisions as Vernon Russell of Dover, Del. captured the Bad 8 Full Body final and Jamie Russell of Dover, won the Bad 8 Open Wheel final Friday night at the U.S. 13 Dragway.  Just as it appeared that all eliminations would get in before the curfew, Robert Messick detonated an engine that scattered parts and oil in both lanes from the eighth-mile mark into the shutdown area. Track crews worked feverishly to clean up the oil down but ran out of time ending the night. The only other finals to get in before the curfew were Bike Trophy which was won by Michael Ross of Fruitland, Md. and Jr. Dragster 1 where Michael Ennis of Delmar drove to his first career win.

Vernon Russell faced Don Teague of Newark, Del. in the Bad 8 Full Body final. Russell had a .008 reaction and drove to his second Bad 8 win of the season with a breakout 8.464/160.28 on an 8.48 dial. Teague was out by more with a 7.922/172.64 on a 7.94 dial. Christopher Murray of Frankford, Del. set Low E.T. and Top Speed in qualifying with a 7.887/172.51. Jamie Russell met Jerry Birchfield of Essex, Md. in the Bad 8 Open Wheel final. Birchfield had a -.007 red light foul and Jamie Russell took the win with 7.624/174.82 on a 7.64 dial. Wayne Patton of Rhodesdale, Md. set Low E.T. with a 7.276 in qualifying and Birchfield, Jr. had Top Speed with 189.47.

In the all-quad Bike Trophy final Michael Ross was paired against Harvey Powell of Salisbury. Ross took his third win of the season with a 14.307/81.97 on a 14.20 dial. Powell broke out running a 14.450 on a 14.50 dial. Michael Ennis picked up his first career win in Jr. Dragster 1 winning over Tyler Williams of Fruitland, Md. Williams left too early and fouled and Ennis had a .003 reaction and ran a 9.049/69.22 on a 9.02 dial for his first victory.

Several divisions were down to the final pair when time ran out. Wayne Smith of Chatham, Pa. and Anthony Buckson of Smyra remained in Pro Bike; Daryl Beauchamp of Princess Anne, Md. and Mike Keyton of Pasadena, Md. remained in Pro and Chase Cathell of Seaford and Shelby Bireley remained in Jr. Dragster 2. The Super Pro cars were in their quarter-finals when the oil down occurred. Remaining were Billy Thomas of Pasadena, Md. Vernon Russell, Vance Owens of Georgetown, Del. and Ben Parks of Salisbury.

This Friday night will be another Summit E.T. Racing Series event. Gates open at 3:30 with time runs at 4:30 and eliminations at approximately 8 p.m.