By Charlie Brown, Delmar, DE – The U.S. 13 Dragway celebrated the 49th consecutive seasons for the fabled Delmarva quarter-mile Friday night at the Dover Downs Hotel and Casino. The event recognized the top drivers and riders in the NHRA Division 1 Summit E.T. Racing Series divisions plus two Jr. Dragster classes and the High School Eliminator.


Champions that were crowned for 2012 included: Frank Lecates of Salisbury, Md., in Super; Glenn Groton of Salisbury, Md. in Pro; James Farmer of Denton, Md. in Pro Bike; Frank Parks of Denton, Md. in Street; Tyler Powell of Delmar, Md. in Jr. Dragster 1 and Herby Sullivan of Ridgely, Md. in Jr. Dragster 2. Lorynn Huntington of Parsonsburg was also recognized for being the High School Eliminator for 2012.


Super Pro was as competitive as ever with 13 different winners. Racer Frank Lecates has not only been a competitor for many years but he also helps with the weekly operation of the track in any way he can. This season Lecates drove his dragster to two wins and enough late round runs to win his first Super Championship with 524 points earning him $1300 from the point fund. Pushing him to the end was last season’s Pro Champion, Phillip Truitt of Parsonsburg, Md. with 511 points and defending champion, Vernon Russell of Dover, Del. rounded out the top three with 474 points.


Finishing fourth through 16th and receiving trophies and cash were: Vance Owens of Georgetown, Del. 443 pts.; Brooks Moore of Salisbury, 423 pts; W.R. Ketterman of Salisbury, 429 pts.; Chad Cathell of Seaford, Del. 427 pts.; Jamie Russell of Dover, 424 pts.; Eddie Savage of Wallops Island, Va., 379 pts.; Frankie Timmons of Bishopville, Md. 375 pts.; Laura Landry of Townsend, Del., 370 pts.; Bobby Insley of Crisfield, Md., 368 pts.; Mike Jones of Salisbury, 367 points; Bradford & Usilton of Salisbury, 363 pts. And Don Teague of Newark, Del.  361 pts. Trophies were presented by Pepsi Bottling Ventures of Salisbury.


Glenn Groton finished just outside of the top five in 2011 but he stepped up his program for 2012 earning him his first championship in Pro. Groton found his way to victory lane four times during the season earning him 916 pts. netting him $950 for winning the class. Roger Ridgeway, Jr. of Dover made a major jump from his 12th place finish a year prior to finish in second with 825 pts. and Tim Foskey of Rhodesdale, Md. ended up third for the second straight year with 686 pts.


Rounding out the top 16 in order were: Jim Williams of Seaford, 593 pts.; Andy Davenport of Seaford, 509 pts.; John Parks of Denton, 479 pts.; Kevin Parks of Greensboro, Md., 472  pts.; Steve Long of Linthicum, Md., 458 pts.; John Kulaga of Dover, 450 pts.; Chelsea Williams of Seaford, 405 pts.; Ryan Groton of Salisbury, 397 pts.; Glen Isom of New Castle, Del., 374  pts.; Buddy Layfield of Snow Hill, Md., 371 pts.; Daryl Beauchamp of Princess Anne, Md., 368 pts. Ben Garnett of Smyrna, Del., 363 pts. and Wayne Redrow of New Castle with 360 pts. Drivers received trophies presented by the Cheswold Connection and point fund money from the dragway.


James Farmer defended his Pro Bike Championship as he rode to eight wins and his sixth championship in the class. Along with his wins Farmer earned 725 pts. and $450 in point fund earnings. Anthony Buckson of Smyrna was second with 638 pts. Third went to John Bartkovich of Salisbury with 554 pts. and Eddie Savage, Jr. of Wallops Island, Va. finished fourth with 392 pts.  Riders received trophies presented by Insinger Performance, Inc. and point fund money from the dragway.


Frank Parks ran very consistently throughout the season to win the Street Eliminator Championship. Parks posted four final round wins earning him 646 points and $200 for being class champion. Wayne Phippin of Salisbury finished in the runner-up spot with 539 pts. with Josh Davis of Seaford third with 462 pts. and Billy Brown of Selbyville, Del. fourth with 435 pts. Trophies were presented by Insinger Performance, Inc.


The Jr. Dragster divisions produced one repeat and one first time champion with awards being presented to the top ten in each division. Taking the Jr. Dragster 1 title for the second straight year was Tyler Powell of Delmar, Md. with six wins on the season. Powell earned 478 points and $100 from the point fund. Brittany Hooper of Hurlock, Md. jumped from eighth last season to finish in second with 451 pts. Third place went to Tyler Williams of Fruitland, Md. with 356 pts. Rounding out the top five were Michael Ennis of Delmar, Del with 331 pts. and Dacia Powell of Salisbury with 265  pts.


Rouding out the top ten were: T.J. Williams of Fruitland, 253 pts.; Ethan Hubbard of Princess Anne with 235 pts.; Keith Riddle of Millsboro, Del. with 221 pts.; Tyler Karr of Georgetown, Del. with 182 pts. and Zoe Jackson of Newark, Md. with 132 pts. Drivers received trophies from C&P Full Service Center plus point money.


Jr. Dragster 2 was captured for the first time by Herby Sullivan. Sullivan was runner-up in 2011 and this season and was consistently in the late rounds to earn 515 pts. and $100 for the division win. Cortney Cathell of Laurel, Del. made several trips to the final round and finished in second with 459 pts. Third went to Christian Walston of Crisfield who turned in a personal best with 414 points. Rounding out the top five were Trevor Post of Delmar, Del. with 390 pts. and Shelby Bireley of Salisbury with 344 pts.


Finishing sixth through tenth in order were: Paul Riddle, Jr. of Millsboro with 330 pts.; Katelyn Muir of Delmar, Md. with 311 pts.; Kody Mariner of Salisbury with 291 pts.; Amanda Clem of Hurlock with 269 pts. and Katie Bromwell of Seaford with 250 pts.  Drivers received trophies from C&P Full Service Center plus point money.


Sponsors on the 2011 U.S. 13 Dragway Money Trail were recognized including: Delmarva NAPA Auto Parts; Pepsi; The Cheswold Ford Connection; Insinger Performance, Inc.; Harley Davidson of Seaford; Goodyear and Competition Tire East; C&P Full Service Center; Delmar Pizza; L&D Suzuk; NuCar Connection Performance Parts and Summit E.T. Racing Series.