By Charlie Brown, Dover, DE – The U.S. 13 Dragway celebrated its 50th anniversary in 2013. On Saturday night over 250 drivers, riders, family and friends braved the near zero temperatures to recognize the top competitors of 2013 at the annual awards banquet held at the Dover Downs Hotel & Casino. The top finishers in the NHRA Summit E.T. Racing Series points received trophies and shared in the $14,780 point fund.

Laura Landry of Townsend, Del. in her first full season at the track became only the second female in the history of the Dragway to earn the coveted Super Pro point championship. Landry drove her ’67 Chevelle to two wins and earned 668 points to hold off former champion, Ben Parks of Salisbury, Md. who finished second with Glenn Reese of New Castle, DE finishing third, Billy Groton of Seaford, DE finishing fourth, and  Brooks Moore of Salisbury, MD rounding out the top five.

Also receiving cash and trophies in six through 10th were: Don Teague of Newark, Del., Jamie Russell of Dover, Del. tied with Vance Owens of Georgetown, Del.; Frank Lecates of Salisbury and Vic Gordy of Ellendale. Eleventh through 19th were: Robert Messick of Pittsville, Md.; Mike Jones of Salisbury; Vernon Russell of Dover; W.R. Ketterman of Salisbury, Mark Cathell of Seaford, Del.; Frankie Timmons of Bishopville, Md.; Sterling Clough of Marion, Md., Chad Cathell of Seaford and Phillip Truitt of Parsonsburg, Md. Trophies were presented by Pepsi Bottling Ventures.

Jesse Long of Preston, Md. took home top honors in the Pro division. Long, behind the wheel of his potent Mustang earned only a single final round win but was consistently in the final rounds to amass 848 points to dominate the division. Daryl Beauchamp of Princess Anne, Md. came on strong in the late season to tie with Ryan Groton of Salisbury for second with 681 points. John Parks of Denton, Md. and Tim Foskey of Rhodesdale, Md. rounded out the top five.

Finishing sixth through tenth were: Crystal Hudson of Millsboro, Del., Jim Williams of Seaford, Brian Riebert, Jr. of Snow Hill, Md.; David Hornsby of Delmar, Del. and Ben Garnett of Smyrna, Del. Receiving awards for 11th through 19th were: Humphrey Maddox, Jr. of Princess Anne; Wayne Redrow of New Castle; Roger Ridgeway, Jr. of Dover; Rick Willey of Whaleysville, Md.; Glenn Groton of Salisbury; Bill Bradford of Pittsville, Md.; Ronnie Bishop of Salisbury; Bryan Hudson of Dagsboro, Del. and Ernie Fisher of Laurel, Del. Trophies were presented by the Cheswold Connection.

In 2013 James Farmer of Denton, Md. rode to his second consecutive championship and his seventh overall in Pro Bike. Farmer posted seven final round wins and earned 934 points. Harvey Powell of Salisbury finished the runner-up in his first year in the division with 710 points. Other award winners were former champion Charles Nock of Greenwood, Del. in third and Anthony Buckson of Smyrna. Trophies were presented by Insinger Performance, Inc.

Four racers in the Street Eliminator division were recognized. For the second consecutive year, Frank Parks of Denton drove his “Burrsville Bandit” Mustang to the point title with seven wins and 982 points. Ronn Carey of Dagsboro finished second with 685 points. Third went to Josh Nichols of Hebron, Md. and Josh Davis of Seaford rounded out the top four. Trophies were presented by Insinger Performance, Inc.

The top ten each of the Jr. Dragster 1 and Jr. Dragster 2 divisions were recognized. Winning her first Jr. Dragster 1 title in dominate style was Dacia Powell of Salisbury who raced to nine division wins and 601 points. Brittany Hooper of Hurlock was the runner-up with 490 points. Ethan Hubbard of Princess Anne, Keith Riddle of Millsboro and Caitlyn Hooper of Hurlock rounded out the top five.

Sixth through tenth were Cody Drummond of Laurel, Nicholas Bowie of Greensboro, Md., Nyck Shirkey of Ridgely, Md., Tyler Karr of Georgetown and Morgan Larkin of Salisbury. Trophies were presented by C&P Service Center.

The Jr. Dragster 2 championship also went to a first time winner. Christian Walston of Crisfield, Md. took three final round wins and earned 542 points taking the championship in a good battle with Cortney Cathell of Laurel who finished second with 501 points. Alex Bradford of Newark, Md., Tyler Powell of Salisbury and Ryan Jackson of Newark, Md. rounded out the top five.

Sixth through tenth were Willow Gunter of Delmar, Michael Ennis of Delmar, Amanda Clem of Hurlock, Jerel Davis of Salisbury and Herby Sullivan of Ridgely. Trophies were presented by C&P Service Center.

Also recognized was the High School Challenge winner who represented U.S. 13 at the NHRA NED 1 Bracket Finals. That award went to Taylor Pavone of Seaford.

All champions received championship jackets, a jewelry item and a “Gold Card” which grants them free admission to the 2014 season. Employee Debbie Trice received special recognition for 30 years of service.

Plaques and a special thanks went to season sponsors C&P Service Center, Delmar Pizza, NAPA, Pepsi Bottling Ventures, the Cheswold Connection and Why Not Travel.

A very big thank you goes out to The Metal Shop (Delmar, DE), Signs By Tomorrow (Salisbury, MD), Mark Benston Racing Engines (Dagsboro, DE), and Groton’s Performance (Seaford, DE) for their individual help in the trophy design for the 2013 Champions.